January 2019 News


January 15th, 2019

School Wide Spelling Bee

It’s that time of year!!!  Class level spelling bee and grade level spelling bees will be held before March 20th.  Each grade level will submit the top 2 spellers.   The school-wide bee on Wednesday, April 3rd at 9:00.  The county-wide bee will be held on May 6th  at Rossview Middle School. Good Luck!!


January 8th, 2019

Ms. McLean’s Inspirational Desks


January 8th, 2019

APSU Tentative Spring 2019 Recitals, Concerts and Events

Tentative Spring 2019 Recitals, Concerts and Events. All dates/times subject to change. All free and in MMC Mabry Concert Hall unless noted otherwise for up-to-date concert information, visit www.apsu.edu/events

 

Sun., Jan. 20      Cello Day – a CECA-sponsored event

Cello Day Concert                                                                                       3 p.m.

Jan. 25-26           Gomalan Brass Quintet                                                                                       

                              (Roy Acuff Chair of Excellence Residency – CECA Sponsored)

 

Sat., Jan. 26        Smash Bang Brass Bash

Gomalan Brass Quintet – a CCCA concert                                        7:30 p.m.

Tickets required – see Clarksville Community Concert Assoc.

                              (APSU students enter with ID)

 

Sun., Jan. 27       Gateway Chamber Orchestra, Magical Mozart                                    4 p.m.

Tickets required – see Gateway Chamber Orchestra

                              (APSU students enter with ID)

 

Tue., Jan. 29       Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

James Fusik (Saxophone) Faculty Recital                                          7:30 p.m.

 

Thu. Jan. 31        Jeffrey Williams (Voice), Meghan Berindean (Cello),

& Razvan Berindean (Viola) Faculty Recital                                     7:30 p.m.

 

Sat., Feb. 2         Marimba Day

 

Tue., Feb. 5         Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

 

Thur., Feb. 7       Spencer Prewitt (Clarinet) Faculty Recital                                        7:30 p.m.

 

Sat., Feb. 9          Briana Owen (Voice) Senior Recital                                                   7:30 p.m.

 

Feb. 11-13           Guitar Fest – a CECA-sponsored event

 

Mon., Feb. 11     Guitar Fest Concert                                                                               7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Feb. 12       Guitar Fest Concert                                                                               7:30 p.m.

Anton Belov, Baritone Lecture & Recital,

Heydel Hall, A+D Bldg.                                                                          7:30 p.m.

 

 

Wed., Feb. 13     Guitar Fest Concert                                                                               7:30 p.m.

 

Feb. 14-16           Govs High School Honor Band – a CECA-sponsored event

 

Sat., Feb. 16        Govs High School Honor Band Concert                                                  2 p.m.

 

Tue., Feb. 19       Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

Feb. 20-21           Cook, Dixon & Young

                              (Roy Acuff Chair of Excellence Residency – CECA Sponsored)

Thur., Feb. 21     Cook, Dixon & Young – a CCCA Concert                                          7:30 p.m.

Tickets required – see Clarksville Community Concert Assoc.

                               (APSU students enter with ID)

 

Mon., Feb. 25     Symphonic Band                                                                                    7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Feb. 26       Student Recital – African American Composers                           12:45 p.m.

 

Wed., Feb. 27     Woodwind Chamber Ensemble                                                          7:30 p.m.

 

Thur., Feb. 28     Orchestra                                                                                                7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Mar. 12      Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

Patricia Halbeck (Piano) Faculty Recital                                            7:30 p.m.

 

Wed., Mar. 13    Amosa Duo (more info to follow)                                                      7:30 p.m.

 

Thur., Mar. 14    Melissa Britton (Voice) Graduate Recital                                         7:30 p.m.

 

Sun., Mar. 17      Gateway Chamber Orchestra                                                                   4 p.m.

Tickets required – see Gateway Chamber Orchestra

(APSU students enter with ID)

 

Mon., Mar. 18    Felisia Jones (Voice) Junior Recital                                                    5:30 p.m.

Heather Breaux (Voice) Graduate Recital                                        7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Mar. 19      Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

Saxophone Studio Recital                                                                    7:30 p.m.

 

Mar. 21-23          Mid South Jazz Festival – a CECA-sponsored event

 

Thur., Mar. 21    Jazz Combo                                                                                             7:30 p.m.

 

Fri., Mar. 22        Jazz Collegians & Cumberland Winds Jazz Project                          7:30 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 23       Joel Frahm / David Berkman Duo – a CCCA Concert                      7:30 p.m.

Tickets required – see Clarksville Community Concert Assoc.

                               (APSU students enter with ID)

 

Sun., Mar. 24      Hayden Giesseman (Clarinet) Graduate Recital                              5:30 p.m.

Luisana Rivas (Voice) Graduate Recital                                             7:30 p.m.

 

Mon., Mar. 25    Megan Vaughan (Voice) Graduate Recital                                       7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Mar. 26      Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

Percussion Ensemble                                                                            7:30 p.m.

 

Wed., Mar. 27    Concert Band                                                                                         7:30 p.m.

 

Mon., Apr. 1       Wind Ensemble                                                                                      7:30 p.m.

 

Wed., Apr. 3       Trombone Studio Recital                                                                     7:30 p.m.

 

Thu. Apr. 4          Christian Phillips (Clarinet) Junior Recital                                         5:30 p.m.

DeWayne Johnson (Voice) Senior Recital                                         7:30 p.m.

 

Fri., Apr. 5           Sydney Crutcher (Voice) Junior Recital, Heydel Hall, A+D Bldg.   7:30 p.m.

 

Sun., Apr. 7         Gateway Chamber Orchestra, Hayden Festival                                    4 p.m.

                              Tickets required – see Gateway Chamber Orchestra

                              (APSU students enter with ID)

 

Mon., Apr. 8       Guitar Studio Recital                                                                             7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Apr. 9         Student Recital                                                                                    12:45 p.m.

Apr. 10                 Big Sing – a CECA-sponsored event

 

Wed., Apr. 10     Big Sing Concert                                                                                    5:30 p.m.

 

Thur., Apr. 11     Terrell Boykin (Trombone) Senior Recital                                         7:30 p.m.

 

Sat., Apr. 13        Allen Simpson (Guitar) Graduate Recital in Heydel Hall, A+D Bldg. 7:30 p.m.

Sun., Apr. 14       Opera: Mark Adamo’s Little Women – a CECA-Sponsored Event       TBD

Tickets required – details to come

 

Mon., Apr. 15     Kelly Landrum (Clarinet) Junior Recital                                             5:30 p.m.

Kristofor Downs (Guitar) Senior Recital                                            7:30 p.m.

 

 

Tue., Apr. 16       Robert Noah Perkins (Voice) Senior Recital                                     5:30 p.m.

Trombone Studio Recital                                                                     7:30 p.m.

 

Wed., Apr. 17     Woodwind Chamber Ensemble                                                          7:30 p.m.

 

Thu. Apr. 18        Clarinet Studio Recital                                                                          7:30 p.m.

 

Mon., Apr. 22     Guitar Ensemble                                                                                    7:30 p.m.

 

Tue., Apr. 23       Music Dept. Honors & Awards                                                         12:45 p.m.

Symphonic Band                                                                                    7:30 p.m.

 

Wed., Apr. 24     Jonah Whitney (Guitar) Junior Recital                                               5:30 p.m.

Scott Hearn (Trombone) Graduate Recital                                       7:30 p.m.

Sun., Apr. 28      Trumpet Day – a CECA-sponsored event

 

Mon., Apr. 29     Valerie Denney (Voice) Senior Recital                                               5:30 p.m.

Victoria Bone (Composition) Senior Recital                                     7:30 p.m.